2023 MedStar Georgetown Distinguished Achievement Award in Abdominal Wall Reconstruction

J. Scott Roth, MD, FACS
UK Good Samaritan Hospital
University of Kentucky College of Medicine
Lexington, KY

J. Scott Roth, MD is the Division Chief of General, Endocrine and Metabolic Surgery and Director of Minimally Invasive Surgery Program at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in Lexington, Kentucky.  He also serves as the Chief of Surgery at UK Good Samaritan Hospital. His practice is focused in the areas of foregut surgery, abdominal hernias, and abdominal wall reconstruction. 

Dr. Roth was born and raised in New Jersey.  He completed his Bachelor of Science at the College of William and Mary and later earned his Medical Degree from the Medical College of Virginia.  He subsequently completed his general surgery residency training followed by a fellowship in Minimally Invasive Surgery at the University of Kentucky. Dr. Roth returned to the University of Kentucky in 2008 as Chief of Gastrointestinal Surgery.

His research interests are in the area of abdominal wall reconstruction, prosthetic materials and tissue engineering for hernia repair. His basic research focuses on evaluating mechanisms of improving hernia repair outcomes through the inhibition of Matrix Metalloproteinases resulting in alterations in collagen deposition. He is a member of numerous surgical societies including the American Surgical Association, the Southern Surgical Association, the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons, the American Hernia Society, the Southeastern Surgical Congress, the Society of University Surgeons and is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He is a past-president of the Kentucky Chapter of the American College of Surgeons and former Governor of the American Hernia Society.  He is serving his fourth term as advisor to the CPT Editorial panel, representing SAGES.

Dr. Roth is a nationally recognized leader in minimally invasive surgery and hernia repair. He is the Principal Investigator in numerous ongoing clinical trials evaluating outcomes in hernia repair.

Past Award Recipients:

2022: John P. Fischer, MD, MPH
2021: Jeffrey E. Janis, MD
2019: Michael J. Rosen, MD
2018: J. Jeekel, MD, PhD
2017: Oscar M. Ramirez, MD
2016: Charles E. Butler, MD
2015: Brent D. Matthews, MD
2014: B. Todd Heniford, MD
2013: Adrian E. Park, MD
2012: Guy R. Voeller, MD
2011: Jean Bernard Flament, MD